Upland Products

Product Review: OTIS Elite Gun Cleaning System

OTIS Elite Gun Cleaning System

OTIS Elite Cleaning System

Long before I ever owned my first gun, the importance of proper firearm cleaning and maintenance had already been well ingrained into my skull by my father and grandfather.  In their minds, one of the steps to proving that I was ready to own and handle a firearm (besides passing a hunter safety class of course) was ensuring that I was responsible enough to properly care for and maintain one first. I believe this was a valuable lesson for me growing up and is one that I still adhere to today, maybe even more so after being introduced to the OTIS Elite Cleaning System.

If you are anything like me, you probably have a hodgepodge collection of cleaning rods, jags, brushes, mops, snakes and adapters taking up space somewhere in your gun cabinet.  I’ve tried numerous “universal” kits over the years, often only to find out that they are quite general in nature and typically include only the basics needed for a narrow range of calibers or gauges. Rope-style cleaners such as the Hoppe’s BoreSnakes offered a quick and easy cleaning solution without all the parts and pieces, but due to the specificity of each “snake”, I soon realized that I would need 9 of them to cover the range of calibers and gauges in my collection! Finally, after hearing about the OTIS gun cleaning system a couple of years ago from my dad (yes he still teaches me a thing or two after all these years ;-), I knew that this could be the last cleaning kit that I would ever need!

The OTIS Patch Saver slides onto the slotted tip behind a patch and provides a snug, 360 degree ring-of-clean!

The OTIS gun cleaning system is different from the more standard rod-cleaning kits in that it is specifically a breech-to-muzzle system.  By cleaning breech-to-muzzle, fowling and buildup exits from the muzzle rather than being forced back into the action as with cleaning rods. Upon opening the nice soft-sided carrying case included with the OTIS Elite Gun Cleaning System, I was impressed to see that virtually every brush and tool had a unique, secure place in this kit (no more Ziploc bags full of tips and adapters!).  Unlike other universal kits that typically include 1-3 “common” brushes along with a couple of different jags & patch tips, the OTIS Elite comes with 16 different high quality bronze bore brushes as well as an assortment of solid brass slotted tips, obstruction removers, patches and accessories to clean any handgun or rifle from .177 to .50 Caliber and shotguns from .410 – 10 Gauge.

Shortly after picking up the Elite System, I quickly put it to the test on a full take down cleaning of my Benelli Super Black Eagle, my go-to gun for the tough weather and hunting conditions of the fall and winter waterfowl season here in Montana. After running one patch, I was literally amazed at how much fowling and buildup my previous cleanings had left behind. The OTIS Patch Saver (the OTIS  answer to mops & swabs) creates a snug fit and scrubs the full diameter of the barrel which quickly revealed the unseen residue that was left behind by my previous bore mop.

OTIS Elite Gun Cleaning System removable pack

The removable '750' kit allows you to pack what you need for the field or the range in compact, easy-to-carry case!

Considering everything that included in this kit, the overall size of the carry case (15.5”x8.75”x4.5”) is still manageable for packing along on a hunting trip, but one really nice feature is the removable 750 Tactical Pouch that allows you to bring along just the tools you need for 2-3 different calibers/gauges in a convenient 4”x2” pouch that is perfect for the range or the field! I admit that at first glance this kit seemed

like it might be overkill for my needs, but after watching the included interactive instructional DVD and learning about all of the additional tools and accessories in the kit, I quickly realized that every tool in this kit is there for a reason.  A key component to overall firearm safety is keeping your gun clean and in good working order, the OTIS Elite Cleaning System is a great tool for keeping all of your firearms in top condition!

Pros of the OTIS Elite Cleaning System:

  • Truly the most comprehensive “universal” gun cleaning kit of its kind
  • All components are extremely high quality and 100% Made in the USA!
  • Perfect for anyone with a wide range of firearms
  • Lifetime warranty on all components as well as a 30-Day Money Back Satisfaction Guarantee

Cons of the OTIS Elite System:

Final thoughts…

I have personally been using this kit for over two years now. In fact, the reason we decided to start carrying on the Uplanders Warehouse website is due to my personal experience with this product. The initial investment seemed high for a gun cleaning kit, but I have not had to buy a patch, solvent, or miscellaneous adapter tip since I picked up this kit, it literally has everything you will ever need for cleaning and maintaining your guns. I strongly recommend this product – there’s no way I’d ever go back to a rod or boresnake cleaner after using my OTIS Elite gun cleaning system.

Here’s a quick video from OTIS showing the ELITE gun cleaning system:

Discussion

One thought on “Product Review: OTIS Elite Gun Cleaning System

  1. product is a genuinely great item with a lot of valuable.
    This item works great, all functions appropriate as advertised.

    Love this item!

    Posted by products prices Compare | March 10, 2013, 9:47 pm

Leave a comment